Sint Maarten

Sint Maarten is the Dutch side of the Caribbean island of Saint Martin established in 1648.

Sint Maarten is one of four constituent territories that are part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, It encompasses the southern half of the island of Saint Martin, while the northern half of the island constitutes the French overseas collectivity of Saint-Martin. Its capital is Philipsburg.

Before October 10th, 2010, Sint Maarten was known as the Island Territory of Sint Maarten, and was one of five island territories that constituted the Netherlands Antilles.

On October 10th, 2010, Sint Maarten became a constituent country within the Kingdom of the Netherlands, making it a constitutional equal partner with Aruba, Curaçao, and the Netherlands proper.

Sint Maarten has been assigned the ISO 3166-1 alpha-2 country codes of SXM and SX, and the .SX as its Internet ccTLD (country code Top Level Domain).

Upcoming Events